Advice

Juicy as a Georgia Peach

“You can be the ripest, juiciest peach in the world, and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches.” – Dita Von Teese

I heard this quote last week and it really resonated with me. I’ve always been the type to be a people pleaser, and I’ve always wanted everyone to like me. There’s nothing wrong with that, right? Well, when it affects your mood, raises your stress and derails your focus then yes, there is an issue. This is the year I stopped giving shits and I have never felt more liberated.

I mentioned yesterday the older I get the less I care and it really just couldn’t be more true. I have made the decision to put energy into people I love and who show love in return, and I have learned to tune everyone else out.

Why is this freeing? You have more time for your own thoughts, goals, and ambitions; and less time for self-doubt, dirty self-talk, and questioning your own character. It. Is. Awesome. You feel more in charge of yourself and your life, which in turn really makes you feel more like a badass.

This year I decided to “clean house.” I cleared some space in my brain for the people that I have found influence me in a positive way. This means pay attention to the people in your life that really show you they care. These people will always remind you how awesome you are and lift you up. They encourage you, push you, and challenge you. They believe in you.

As we get older the more effort you have to put into friendships, but I wouldn’t say it gets harder. Take a look at the people you reach out to and who reach back. Those people that put energy in will also be thankful for the energy you put into them. These are the people that I have found influence me in a positive way. They are inspiring, motivating, and I would even say happier. Positive vibes all around!

If you surround yourself with positive energy the universe will bless you with a positive life.

Lastly, forget the critics. Forget the haters. Be thankful for these people for they will teach you to appreciate those who support you. And c’mon… who really doesn’t like peaches?!

Xo,

Morgan

One thought on “Juicy as a Georgia Peach

Leave a Reply

