Advice

Why Not Live Everyday 


So, I think… a lot. I’m one of those people whose brain literally never stops moving. I am probably the best candidate for twitter because I seriously have such random thoughts. So this morning I’m thinking about my purpose. Am I living my life true to myself? Am I living my passion? Am I living my life to my full potential? Will I look back in 50 years and think, yes, I was definitely happy. 

“You may be 38 years old, as I happen to be. And one day, some great opportunity stands before you and calls you to stand up for some great principle, some great issue, some great cause.

And you refuse to do it because you are afraid. You refuse to do it because you want to live longer. You’re afraid that you will lose your job, or you are afraid that you will be criticized or that you will lose your popularity, or you’re afraid that somebody will stab you, or shoot at you or bomb your house; so you refuse to take the stand.

Well, you may go on and live until you are 90, but you’re just as dead at 38 as you would be at 90. And the cessation of breathing in your life is but the belated announcement of an earlier death of the spirit.”

-Martin Luther King Jr.

I see so many people that hate their jobs and are just miserable. When you stop living and stop trying you aren’t doing anyone a favor. What’s the point? Is it for the title? Pension? Security? These things are great obviously, but you don’t want to wake up at 90 and look back on what you didn’t accomplish, and didn’t do, and didn’t try and think, “Well… at least I have the next 10 years to live.” What?!? 

When you are happy you have the opportunity to heal others and make others happy. You have the opportunity to heal yourself and just live your life everyday in a way that you want!  

When you do what you love you radiate energy and positivity. And I know you’re thinking, “But I’m not a twenty something brunette living in city x with opportunities x, y, and z.” And you’re absolutely right. There isn’t another me. There is no one else in the world that can do what I do and I’m damn proud of that. No one has my thoughts, fears, and passion. I’m doing my best to live my passion and so should you.

You are passionate about something. You have found it and you ignore it. You stay awake extra long to talk about, read about, or learn about something. You do it everyday. Your browser history is filled with articles or websites that you’ve visited. Start paying attention. 

You can make a career out of anything! That’s what’s awesome about our generation. There are kids making thousands of dollars on YouTube for, I don’t know, making cat videos (I’m sure it happens). Now that kid, he’s living. 

Stop blaming anyone else for not living your truth. Whatever your passion is you can turn it into a career. If you tell me you can’t my response would be, “Have you even tried?”

Go do what you love. Go live it!

Xo,

Morgan

Take home to mom: Whatever your passion is go live it. You can make a career out of anything.

Leave a Reply

